Home (Nilgai)


What is what? Everything you always wanted to know.
  » »


Animals  Nile Monitor Lizard  Nilgai antelope

Nilgai typically herd in small groups of about 10 animals although larger groups of 20-70 are occasionally seen. Males and females remain segregated for most of the year, with bulls joining the cow-calf groups only for breeding.

Nilgai are the largest of the Indian antelopes. Adult bulls have a head-body length of up to 210 cm, stand 130-150 cm at the shoulder and weigh 200-240 kilograms, occasionally more. Cows are smaller and weigh 150-200 kilograms. The rump is lower than the withers.

Taxonomy Boselaphus tragocamelus [Pallas, 1766]. Citation: Misc. Zool., p. 5. Type locality: India, no exact locality ("Plains of Peninsular India").
Click on the pictures above for a larger view of the photographs ...

Nilgai (Boselaphus tragocamelus)
Information on the nilgai is currently being researched and written and will appear here shortly…
More about the Nilgai » ...

The lion's prey consists mainly of large mammals, with a preference for wildebeest, impalas, zebras, buffalo and warthogs in Africa and nilgai, wild boars and several deer species in India.

Native to India are the ~ or blue bull, the four horned antelope and black buck, the saiga lives on the other steppes of South Russia and in the Central and West Asia, and the chiru in Tibet .

Some researchers dissent, pointing out that important differences in reproductive organs, fetuses, bile acid salts and skeletal anatomy make the okapi more likely to not belong in the giraffe family at all, but to be a closer relative of the ~ antelope in the bovid (cattle) family.

Bengal tigers hunt medium-sized and large-sized animals, such as wild boar (an omnivorous mammal), sambar (a kind of deer), barasingha (a kind of deer), chital (a spotted deer), ~ (an antelope), gaur (a large ox of South Asia) and water buffalo.

In India, cheetahs took primarily blackbuck antelopes and chinkara gazelles, but were also known to attack ~ antelope and domestic goats and sheep.

Ruminating mammals include cattle, goats, sheep, giraffes, bison, yaks, water buffalo, deer, camels, alpacas, llamas, wildebeest, antelope, pronghorn, and ~. Taxonomically, the suborder Ruminantia includes all those species except the camels, llamas, and alpacas, which are Tylopoda.

See also: See also: What is the meaning of Antelope, Deer, Leopard, Cattle, Buffalo?

◄ Nile Monitor Lizard   Nilgai antelope ►
RSS Mobile