Home (Asmita)


  » »


Yoga  Ashwini mudra  Asmita samadhi

egoism; the false sense of the individual 'I'; one of the Pancha Kleshas (five 'hindrances' to spiritual growth)
Atman ...

state where the ego and the sense of individuality are completely transcended and there is only pure awareness ...

Asmita ("I-am-ness"): a concept of Patanjali's eight-limbed yoga, roughly synonymous with ahamkara ...

asmita = ego or individuality
asmita = egoism
asta = eight
Astanga yoga = eight limbs: the steps to realization through the practice of yoga
astau = eight
asteya = freedom from avarice
asteya = non-stealing ...

There are five kinds of coloring (kleshas): 1) forgetting, or ignorance about the true nature of things (avidya), 2) I-ness, individuality, or egoism (asmita), 3) attachment or addiction to mental impressions or objects (raga), 4) aversion to thought patterns or objects (dvesha), and 5) love of ...

It results in acts of possessiveness, threats to ego (asmita) and attraction or lust (raga) for sensorial objects (Bhushan, 1994). When the expectation is not fulfilled, the attraction turns into repulsion and hatred (dwesha).

The state is so named because mind retains its consciousness, which is why in savikalpa samādhi one can experience guessing (vitarka), thought (vicāra), bliss (ānanda) and self-awareness (asmita).[8] In Sanskrit, "kalpa" means "imagination".

Ahamkara: ("I-maker"): the individuation principle, or ego, which must be transcended; cf. asmita; see also buddhi, manas.
Ahimsa ("nonharming"): the single most important moral discipline (yama).

" Asana practice is an exploration and a discovery. It is Self discovering Self as true nature (swarupa). Ultimately satya is a transconceptual inquiry.One becomes true to Self, delusion (asmita) and avidya (ignorance) is defeated. As we move,. we move with awareness.

to Sage Patanjali the Samadhi has three different categories Savikalpa, Asamprajnyata and Nirvikalpa or Sanjeevan.
Savikalpa is an interface of trans meditation and higher awareness state, Asamprajnyata. In Savikalpa one can experience Vitarka (Guessing), Vichara (Thought), Anand (Bliss) and Asmita ...

We have very strange terms used in the Sutras of Patanjali such as the words Vitarka, Vichara, Ananda, Asmita, etc.

Artha: Meaning; purpose; objects.
Asana: Posture; seat.
Asmita: Egoism.
Asteya: Abstinence from theft.
Asuddhi: Impurity.
Atyanta: Complete.
Aushadhi: Herbs; medicine; drug.
Avarana: Covering; veil of ignorance.
Avidya: Ignorance.
Avyakritam: Undifferentiated.

See also: See also: Yoga, Body, Meditation, Patanjali, Consciousness

Yoga  Ashwini mudra  Asmita samadhi

RSS Mobile