Home (Avidya)


What is what? Everything you always wanted to know.
  » »


Yoga  Avatar  Avyakta

ignorance; mistaking the false for the true, or vice versa; one of the Pancha Kleshas (five 'hindrances' to spiritual growth); said to be the 'mother klesha' from which all others spring forth; the root cause of all suffering.
Ayurveda ...

Avidya ("ignorance"): the root cause of suffering (duhkha).
Ayurveda ("life science"): one of India 's traditional systems of medicine.
B ...

ignorance; lack of conscious awareness; mistaking the non-eternal for the eternal; confined cognition ...

AVIDYA - ignorance, non-science
AVINASHI - indestructible, imperishable, immortal
AYURVEDA - the ancient Indian medical science. Ayur=Life and Veda=Knowledge ...

avidya "ignorance" or "delusion"
Sanskrit: avidyā
Pāli: avijjā
Bur: အဝိဇ္ဇာ aweizza (IPA: [əweɪ" z ])
Shan: ဢဝိၵ်ႉၸႃႇ awitsa (["a wik˥ tsaː˨])
Thai: อวิชชา aa-wit-sha
Tib: མ་རིག་"་ ma rig-pa
"明 ...

~ is without knowledge: Thus, ~ means without Truth or without knowledge. It is the first form of forgetting the spiritual Reality. It is not just a thought pattern in the conventional sense of a thought pattern.

~ (ignorance) arises because the jiva identifies with information received through the senses. Therefore, in order to expand our comprehension, Swami Sivananda advises withdrawing the mind internally by disconnecting it from sense perception.

~ the Ignorance; the consciousness of Multiplicity; the relative and multiple consciousness.
~maya [maya of the Ignorance].
~yam antare within the Ignorance. [see the following] ...

~ ("ignorance") - the root cause of suffering (duhkha); also called ajnna; cf. vidy
yurveda, yur-veda ("life science") - one of India's traditional systems of medicine, the other being South India's Siddha medicine
Return-A ...

Ignorance (~) is the breeding ground of all the sorrows of mankind, due to which there is attachment to immediate perception. There is Raga and Dvesha, attraction and repulsion.

Maya & ~
Brahman is both consciousness and power (shakti). This sakti operates in many ways, including the power or creation. One such power is the veiling power which veils the spiritual truth of the oneness of consciousness.

~: ignorance
Ayama: length, expansion, extension.
Baddha: bound, constrained, caught
Baddha Konasana: Cobblers pose
Baddha Padmasana: Bound lotus pose
Bahya Kumbhaka: suspension of the breath after full exhalation
Bakasana: Crow pose ...

~ = incorrect comprehension
avirati = desire for sensual satisfaction
ayama = expansion or distribution of energy
baddha = bound
bahiranga-sadhana = one of 3 yogic disciplines comprising the parctice of ethics
bahya = external, exhalation
bahya kumbhaka = suspension of breath with full lungs ...

Those who realize this ignorance call it ~ (a = no; vidya = knowledge: thus ignorance or absence of knowledge). So maya is also called ~ by yogis.

His dreadlocks shake as he balances on the demon of ~, or ignorance. In one of his hands, he holds a drum on which he beats the passage of time. Another hand holds a conch shell, recalling the power of the sound of Om that reverberates through the universe.

Thus a yogi experiences the very palpable force and energy of tapas when they resist outward spinning temptation/attractions and distraction/dissipation of their prana and awareness toward neurotic subliminal external activities which are governed by the kleshas (chief among them is ~ ...

You have forgotten your real Svarupa or purpose of life on account of ~, Maya, Moha and Raga. You are tossed up hither and thither aimlessly by the two currents of Raga and Dvesha. You are caught up in Samsara-Chakra on account of your egoism, Vasanas, Trishnas and passions of various sorts.

Constantly and intently think of courage. Fear is a Vikara, unnatural, temporary modification on account of ~. When fear disappears, the attachment for the body goes away and then it is easy for you to go above body-consciousness.

To deal with energy system, Pranamaya kosha, yoga says practice the techniques of Pranayama, Pranavidya, Chakra Shuddhi, Kriya and Kundalini, which will help to channel the flow of energy throughout the system, to stimulate and awaken the prana.

Artha: Meaning; purpose; objects.
Asana: Posture; seat.
Asmita: Egoism.
Asteya: Abstinence from theft.
Asuddhi: Impurity.
Atyanta: Complete.
Aushadhi: Herbs; medicine; drug.
Avarana: Covering; veil of ignorance.
~: Ignorance.
Avyakritam: Undifferentiated.

See also: See also: What is the meaning of Yoga, Mind, Spirit, Consciousness, Spiritual?

◄ Avatar   Avyakta ►
RSS Mobile