Home (Shaucha)


What is what? Everything you always wanted to know.
  » »


Yoga  Shauch  Shava Asana

Shaucha (Sanskrit: शौच, also spelled Saucha, Śauca) literally means purity, cleanliness and clearness.[1] It refers to purity of mind, speech and body.[2] Saucha is one of the Niyamas of Yoga.

Shaucha, cleanliness, is the first niyama. Not only external cleanliness, like having a shower, brushing your teeth, etc., but purity of actions, purity of mind from evil and distracting, unnecessary thoughts and from bad, haunting memories.

Shaucha: purity of body and mind (2.40, 2.41)
Santosha: contentment (2.42)
Tapah: training the senses, austerities, ascesis (2.43)
Svadhyaya: self-study, reflection on sacred words (2.44) ...

Shaucha - Purifying body, mind, and spirit
Samtosha - Contentment, cultivating the inner joys shich come with freedom from desire
Tapas - Self-discipline, developing a strong will, training the habits of body and mind
Svadhyaya - Self-study ...

Shaucha (purification) is a central aim of many yogic techniques, and is the first principle of Patanjali's five Niyamas.

The Niyamas are:
1. ~: Purity or Cleanliness
2. Santosa: Contentment
3. Tapas: Self-discipline or burning spiritual desire
4. Svadyaya: Self-study or contemplation
5. Ishvara Pranidhana: Surrender to the Absolute.

See also: See also: What is the meaning of Yoga, Shauch, Niyama, Mind, Yamas?

◄ Shauch   Shava Asana ►
RSS Mobile